RSS Feed

Sewlutions 2014

In the spirit of new beginnings (and holding myself accountable), I’ve decided to share my 2014 Sewlutions with you! You are now responsible for holding me accountable. HA! JOKE’S ON YOU! 😉

So without further ado, I give you my list:

1. Master the Buttonhole

Yes, you read that right: the humble buttonhole. Not bound buttonholes mind you, just regular, everyday buttonholes. I made a few (read: less than five total) and I just got frustrated and decided to stick to zippers. Much of the blame was passed to my cheap sewing machine, but I think know for sure that I’m being stubborn and lazy and just need to practice! Of course, this newly mastered skill will probably prompt me to make 800 shirtdresses. I blame Betty Draper and Skeeter Phelan. 🙂

2.  Master the Full Bust Adjustment (FBA)

This is another example of my blatant laziness. I made a Sewaholic Cambie this summer that is downright DELIGHTFUL 🙂 …but it has some fit problems. Instead of going with the tried and true sizing that I used for two Sewaholic Hollyburn skirts (yes, you’ll see them soon!) I decided to cut a size smaller because that’s what matched my waist that day… with zero ease. Apparently I wanted to eat/breathe less than usual? In case you don’t see the problem with this, I’ll tell you right now: DON’T DO THAT! My waist is always at least one size down from my bust measurement, and a couple sizes down from my hips. I also gained a little extra curvature after getting married in August. I had been joking that I’d get fat after it was all over, but… apparently I wasn’t joking??? Anyway, this dress was always tight across the bust, but with the current extra voluptuousness, I get more cleavage in this thing than in a dirndl (the cleavage dress of champions). Believe me, I own a few so I would know! It’s almost inappropriate, but the awesome fabric isn’t ideal for work situations anyway, so I just deal with it. 🙂

This picture was taken this summer, before I gained extra boobage… and before I bothered to hem this dress. I can’t help it, I was too excited about the BASEBALL DRESS OF AWESOME ! 🙂 You can’t really tell how tight it is on my chest, so I guess you’ll just have to trust me.

cambie sassy

“Look sassy” he said…

You’re probably thinking that I’m on my way to a baseball game in this picture, right? Nope. My husband and I were waiting for the light rail to downtown Denver, where we had martinis and dinner at the Cheesecake Factory and I received unsolicited compliments from two little girls. YES!!! 😀

3. Make more Solid-Colored Separates

Yup, this is the old Cake vs. Frosting debate. My two Hollyburn skirts get worn ALL THE TIME, but they’re worn almost exclusively with a plain white blouse. On summer weekends I would pair one with whatever tank top was clean, but I’ve always had trouble making them look appropriate for work! My office is pretty casual, but my brewery tees just don’t cut it. Oh, that brings me to #4…

4. Refashion Brewery T-Shirts into Things I Actually Want to Wear

Okay, I’m looking for suggestions on this. Most breweries don’t sell fabric… okay, I’m pretty sure NONE of them do… but I live in the Napa Valley of Beer (aka Colorado) and I married a brewer, so the brewery schwag is pretty abundant (it’s also one of my exceptions to the Seamless Pledge I’ve taken). I like to support our local brewers by being a walking billboard, but breweries don’t often sell shirts that are flattering to my shape (aka boobs). I’m going to keep scouring the magical interwebs for ways to make boxy tees into feminine, perhaps even vintage-inspired attire! Stay tuned. 🙂

5. Make at least One Garment from each of my sewing books (Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing, Colette Sewing Handbook, The Vintage Pattern Selector)

I bought myself a copy of Gertie’s book last Christmas, and I haven’t made anything from it. 😦 I even bought some dark purple linen for a pretty portrait blouse (haha, a solid-colored separate… and the fabric is still in my stash, oops!). The other two books are recent acquisitions, so I don’t feel like I’ve had a chance to neglect them yet. 🙂

So that’s my list! In general, I’m also going to try to be more mindful of the fabric and garments I’m making. I’m one of those people who has a whole room full of clothes, but never anything to wear! 🙂 A complete wardrobe overhaul is on the agenda for January. I’ve even started a “Wardrobe Planning” board on Pinterest to keep me on the Cake Train*. Now if I can only figure out how to wear a blazer…

I hope 2013 has been good to you! 🙂

*Is that a thing? Is there a Cookie and Beer Train? Does it offer an annual pass? Hmm…

5 responses »

  1. Your Cambie looks so cute! Thought the baseballs were big polka dots until I saw the red detailing. I made 2 Sewaholic Cambies and they both have gaping issues at the bust (not a cleavage show-off girl). Will revisit the pattern again in 2014.

    Reply
  2. I too have had Gertie’s book for over a year without sewing a single thing, even a circle skirt. Oops!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Filling the Wardrobe Gaps | My Sewing Melee

Leave a Reply

zilredloh

So many projects, so little time.

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

Autumn Yarn

Adventures in Words and Wool

Thread Carefully

Share our enthusiasm!

The Geeky Seamstress

Cosplay, commissions, sewing, and theater

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

Linguist On The Move

Twelve months, seven continents, one suitcase.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Modern Vintage Cupcakes

new things, old things, and cupcakes too

Ginger Makes...

I make stuff!

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Bobbins and Whimsy

In pursuit of the well-made, whimsical wardrobe

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

New Dress A Day

365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars.

ReFashionista

Creating now.

